Geek talking

Pinoy geek talking about everything under the sun

Mac Book Pro (updated)

Posted by rom on January 11, 2006

Now that the media brouhaha and excitement over the new portable Intel-based Mac is dying down a bit, let’s take a look at the specs of the Mac Book Pro.

  1. Modem. No more fax modem for me.
  2. FW 800. Not that I use it but sure would be useful when I get that new HD digital video camera.
  3. Low-end Core Duo processors. Why not that 2.x Ghz Core Duo processors that are shipping with the Acer, Asus, Dell, HP, Toshiiba and IBM’s? Something is amiss here.
  4. DL DVD Writer. Why not an 8X DVD writer that supports Dual Layer? This is so weird.
  5. Battery life. No mention of battery life. If it lasts for 6-7 hours, then it is good. Otherwise, it is no better than the current Powerbooks.

The question now is – is it worth the upgrade? First version is usually a high risk investment but if you want one now, then get one. I, otoh, am contemplating on whether to get it or not. The specs is kinda inferior to the other Intel-based portables available out there. Now, if only Apple released Mac OS X for Intel..

What do you think?

==

The more that I see it, the more I am inclined to get one. I guess I have to stop visiting the Apple site. Hahaha. Was able to convince the wife to change the 12″ powerbook to the new iMac – she’s having a difficult time processing video so with the new hardware, she should have better performance. Now, I hope that the price is also right. Thing is, no local SRP yet – perhaps tomorrow.

As for a comment from a friend of a reader (and I think I know who that friend is), no, I don’t buy everything that Apple announces. I did not upgrade to the last 15″ G4 powerbook – sure was tempted but did not – nor did I get a Mac Mini. So, tell your friend to keep his/her (not sure of the sexual preference) comments to him/herself! 😛

Leave a Reply

 
