Geek talking

Pinoy geek talking about everything under the sun

Boss Chip!

Posted by rom on September 19, 2005

There is actually a UCC tech staff officer who is often considered as the boss chip (no, not the director, silly!) but that is another story. šŸ™‚

Anyway, I personally considered myself as the boss chip (chief is the proper term, of course, but in this case, humor me!) when I was the head of the UCC. My exposure (although not by choice) to the media has its disadvantages – more often that not, the UCC director is thought to lead all computer centers of UP (of course, each UP unit has its own director) but since I was one of those who are ‘visible’, I had to take on the job of protecting the reputation of the computer centers. Being featured in ISAW is something that I do not look forward to.

Today that I am no longer the boss chip, I can afford not to be paranoid. ISAW is still on my list of daily read (did you notice it is linked to this blog?) and I still monitor articles mentioning UP but I no longer worry, that is someone else’s job now. šŸ™‚

Last September 6, the UP Mindanao site was ‘owned’. Did not lift a finger to do something about it. I know that there are still sites that are vulnerable. I just wish that my friends at UCC are still doing their usual routine of scanning servers for vulnerabilities.

So, di na po ako ang sikyu – so if something happens to UP’s ICT services, am no longer responsible. You better inform the proper authorities. šŸ˜›

To ISAW, thanks for helping me keep sane by sending me advanced notices of vulnerable servers in UP – so we can act on it before you publish it. Whilst I still hope that you will continue this practice, I will try my best to inform the authorities – just hope that they don’t sue me for hacking or something, just like what happened to a friend of mine.

Leave a Reply

 
