Geek talking

Pinoy geek talking about everything under the sun

RIP Mr. Astrologio

Posted by rom on September 15, 2005

This morning I went to the wake of my old mentor, Mr. Cris Astrologio, at St. Peter’s Chapels along Quezon Avenue. The chapel was empty except for his immediate relatives. It was a good thing because I got to share some stories with his older sister. Like him, I never really intended to become a teacher. He was an engineer and I am a “racket” scientist. 🙂

I remember meeting him in my second year in high school. I was enrolled to take algebra but the subject bored me to death. My teacher then asked me if I’d like to be mentored by Mr. Astrologio, the advanced algebra and trigonometry teacher. Who am I to refuse? So I took the offer and never looked back. Imagine, taking 3rd year math on my 2nd year in high school. By the time I started my senior year, was done with all my maths! Cool, huh?

I owe a whole lot to this guy and I hope and pray for the eternal repose of his soul. May you rest in peace, Sir Astro.

Leave a Reply

 
