Geek talking

Pinoy geek talking about everything under the sun

LinuxWorld

Posted by rom on September 14, 2005


DSC00153
Originally uploaded by mctux.

I was invited to be one of the panelist for the FOSS@EDU.PH session at LinuxWorld 2005 Philippines. I did not expect that I was to present something – I thought that I was just going to react on CICT’s Mel Tan’s presentation. šŸ™‚

Anyway, I just gave a short lecture, sans slides, on UP and Open Source. It is a good thing that I know this by heart! :p

Overall, I must say that the session went pretty well. Dr. Lagare and Ms. Tan, my co-panelists, shared lots of information regarding CICT’s education initiatives and MSU-IIT’s FOSS projects.

I sure wish I brought my powerbook with me and made a quick presentation. Oh well.

Travelling to and from Makati is such a pain. I did not opt to use the MRT because it was raining and I was too lazy to bring a brolly. The trips just re-enforced my reason not to work in Makati full-time. Imagine spending 1 to 1.5 hours travelling? Shesh! I am just glad that I just live 5 kilometers away from UP!

Leave a Reply

 
