Geek talking

Pinoy geek talking about everything under the sun

What have you done to me, Steve Jobs?

Posted by rom on June 7, 2005

Is it a good thing or a bad thing? Well, it depends on where you are coming from. For me, it is a good thing since this will allow me to have a lot of options as far as hardware peripherals are concerned as well as OS options are concerned. The question now is – how much will the Apple hardware cost as compared to the likes of Dell, Compaq and HP? And also, how much will its OS cost?

Choosing an OS is now more difficult for me. I will be torn between my loyalty to Linux and my affection for the Mac. I have always advocated people to use Linux on Intel and if they have enough funds to upgrade, get a Mac instead. Now, where will I stand? I am confused! Yes, I am definitely confused! Which one do I push for? It will be an uphill battle for Apple to convince me to advocate for Mac OS X instead of Linux! 😦

Hardware-wise, this will definitely decrease the cost of Apple’s hardware. I just hope that it will make it affordable vis-a-vis the clones. A few hundred pesos additional may just do the trick. πŸ™‚ Also, Apple’s design genius may make it attractive. With IBM’s Thinkpad paving the way for Lenovo’s Chinkpad, no other laptop maker out there produces pretty decent-looking portables! I’d still go for the Mac! Shesh, this means that I will be upgrading again next year!!!! ARGH!

Thanks a lot, Steve Jobs!

4 Responses to “What have you done to me, Steve Jobs?”

  1. JP Petines said

    Upgrade NOW and sell me your powerbook πŸ˜‰

  2. eClair said

    Oooh! What a dilemma. GNU/Linux on Mac hardware… It has been done πŸ˜‰

  3. mac.n.tux said

    Linux on Mac hardware is not actually the problem (I am sure that Linux will not be able to fully support all peripherals on the Mac). The problem is choosing BETWEEN Linux and Mac OS X! πŸ˜›

  4. eClair said

    Ah yes. The choice between Linux and Mac OSX is indeed something…
    *laughs*

    Heck, I am not a Mac user so I have no problems like that hehehehe. I wish I could play around with a Mac one time. I have never really used a Mac long enough to like it. I am still not used to Cocoa…

Leave a Reply

 
