Geek talking

Pinoy geek talking about everything under the sun

My Powerbook’s EOL

Posted by rom on February 1, 2005

Every 6 months, Apple releases new product models and/or an entirely new product range. A few weeks ago, Apple released the Mac Mini and iPod Shuffle. Last night (Philippine Standard Time), Apple upgraded their Powerbook line of portables with new technologies such as:

  • Faster video cards with more video RAM
  • Faster processor, of course
  • New Bluetooth 2.0 with Enhanced Data Rate
  • New Scrolling Trackpad
  • More based RAM (512MB)
  • Officially supporting DVD+R/RW on Superdrive

The question now is to upgrade or not to upgrade. My 12″ 1.33Ghz Powerbook has a Superdrive, 60GB hard drive, 1.2GB RAM. Is it worth the upgrade? I think I will call my supplier and ask her for the upgrade price to see if the additional cost is worth it. I mean, the new Powerbooks will definitely come with Mac OS X 1.4 or Tiger and iLife ’05, a total of US$200 bundle already.

What do you think? Should I upgrade or not? BTW, I am also getting the Mac Mini this month. šŸ™‚

One Response to “My Powerbook’s EOL”

  1. Robert said

    I just bought the “new” PowerBook today. The scrolling trackpad works really well! I feel like I don’t even need a mouse!

Leave a Reply

 
