Geek talking

Pinoy geek talking about everything under the sun

Happy New Year!

Posted by rom on January 1, 2005

The year 2005, year of the Rooster, has started! Have you counted your 2004 blessings? Happy New Year, folks!

Although I do not normally make New Years Resolutions, this year I might just do short list:

1. No more soda pops for me (no more carbonated drinks) and more red wine (hopefully)
2. Be more active in Pinoymac.org and be less active in other Mac sites
3. Be more active physically
4. Spend less on techno-lust

There! Simple but I am sure it’d be difficult to sustain for the rest of the year.

I noticed that there were less fireworks now than a few years ago. I guess it clearly reflects the country’s current economic situation. However, I am curious – if fireworks and firecrackers are part of the Pinoy “tradition”, how come Filipinos who spend their New Year’s Eve overseas do not observe this “tradition”? Why can’t we ban it entirely – not only does it prove to be dangerous, it is also dangerous to the environment!

What I hate most are those trigger happy gun owners, both legit or otherwise, who fire their weapons during New Year’s Eve. I hope that they can be contained in a single room and let them shoot each other instead! Yes, I am sick and tired of seeing innocent folks getting hit by stray bullets and I am more pissed by the fact that every year, I fear that a stray bullet might find our way and hit one of the kids!

To the government, please BAN firecrackers and fireworks entirely. OFFER rewards to those who can report and give evidence against someone violating it. With SMS and digital cameras, it will not be that difficult! Also, please aggressively seek those who fire their guns indiscriminately during New Year’s Eve! Sure wish that there is an elite CSI group here in the country to investigate these cases.

One Response to “Happy New Year!”

  1. M said

    Is it possible that there were less fireworks because people didn’t feel it was appropriate to celebrate New Year after so many tsunami-related deaths? Or maybe that’s just wishful thinking on my part, huh? 🙂

    I tend to agree with your observation… that it’s more the economic situation that’s the main driver.

    Anyway, a minor note — I don’t think the Year of the Rooster has officially started yet. If I understand correctly, we have to wait for Chinese New Year (which is usually in Feb/Mar), since that calendar is lunar.

    Anyway, good luck with your NY Resolutions. I’d personally find #1 EXTREMELY difficult. I’m addicted to soda. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
