Geek talking

Pinoy geek talking about everything under the sun

Airport Express

Posted by rom on August 10, 2004

Finally got an Airport Express unit. This unit, being from within the region, ridiculously sports the Singapore/UK three-pronged plug. Pretty useless here in the Philippines where sockets are similar to the US two/three prong-sockets! Apart from requiring an adapter to make it work locally, this plug is huge and heavy! Impractical, I must say.

Anyway, I tried setting it up without actually reading the manual (like any computer scientist would do) and I was able to set it up quickly. However, when I tried setting it up to extend my existing network, it kept complaining and wouldn’t “pair” due to the WPA setup on my Airport Extreme Base station. I had to remove it and reconfigure but not without resetting the Airport Express.

After a few minutes of tinkering with it, I made it work! First thing I tried is to stream music from my powerbook. All I can say is IMPRESSIVE! Yes, it is indeed awesome!

My take on this new add-on from Apple — good but not great (would have been great if there is a LAN port and it allows you to hook up any USB device such as a USB drive and also if it is possible to stream music to more than one Airport Express). Good thing I did not buy this (this is an office issued add-on for me). Perhaps I’ll get the next revision.

Leave a Reply

 
